OVAC COACH-OF-THE-YEAR

YEAR	COACH	SCHOOL	SPORT		
1969	Frank Baxter	Bridgeport	Basketball		
1970	Henry Lazasz	Warren Consolidated	Basketball		
1971	Charles Watt	Steubenville	Basketball		
1972	Tom Korab	Steubenville Catholic	Football		
1973	Lou Nocida	Magnolia	Football/Basketball		
1974	Bill Hinegardner	John Marshall	Wrestling		
	Jay Circosta	Woodsfield	Football		
1975	Rich Wilinski	Toronto	Football		
1976	Sam Andy	Wheeling Park	Basketball		
1977	Tom Vichich	Shadyside	Track		
1978	Terry Leggett	Buckeye Trail	Basketball		
1979	George Strager	St. Clairsville	Football		
1980	Jim Thomas	Wheeling Central	Football		
1981	John Stanko	Bishop Donahue	Basketball		
1982	Mel Coleman	Wintersville	Basketball		
1983	George "Skip" Prosser	Wheeling Central	Basketball		
1984	Mark Huffman	Skyvue	Basketball		
1985	Reno Saccoccia	Steubenville	Football		
1986	Paul "Bud" Billiard	Brooke	Football		
1987	George Strager	St. Clairsville	Football		
1988	David LaMotte	Bridgeport	Wrestling		
1989	Reno Saccoccia	Steubenville	Football		
1990	Charles Watt	Steubenville	Basketball		
1991	Paul "Bud" Billiard	Brooke	Football		
1992	Jim Potts	Cameron	Wrestling		
1002	Gene Ford	Cambridge	Basketball		
1993	Dave Kovalick	Barnesville	Football		
1994	Fred Heatherington	Steubenville	Baseball		
1995	Sam Andy	Wheeling Park	Basketball		
1996	John Magistro	Bellaire	Football		
1997	Mike Linsky	John Marshall	Football		
1998	Dee Davis	Wheeling Park	Basketball		
1999	Wayne Neely	Weir	Football		
2000	Larry Shaw	Oak Glen	Wrestling		
2001	Terry Edwards	Wheeling Central	Baseball		
2001	•	•			
	Ty Fleming, Shadyside, Football; Carrie Hanna, Wheeling Park, Soccer; Bubba Kapral, St. John, Basketball; Jim Thomas, Wheeling Central, Football				
2002	Craig Schneid	Magnolia	Track		
	Ty Fleming, Shadyside, Football; Russ Hutchins, Wheeling Park, Soccer; Jim Miller, Shadyside, Basketball;				
	Dave Wojcik, Wheeling Central, Ba				
2003	Jim Thomas	Wheeling Central	Football		
	Dan Liedtke, Fort Frye, Basketball; Jim Miller, Shadyside, Basketball; Dave Tallman, Magnolia, Basketball; Dave Wojcik, Wheeling Central, Basketball				
2004	Gene Ammirante	Bellaire	Basketball		
2007		John Magistro, Bellaire, Football; Da			
	Dan Wesson, Shenandoah, Football				
2005	Nikki Hardman	Magnolia	Basketball		
	Larry Shaw, Oak Glen, Wrestling; Bob Kramer, Weirton Madonna, Football; Fred Heatherington, Steubenville,				
Baseball; Nikki Hardman, Magnolia, Basketball; Mel Stephens, Wheeling Central, Basketball					

OVAC COACH-OF-THE-YEAR

YEAR	COACH	SCHOOL	SPORT			
2006	Reno Saccoccia	Steubenville	Football			
	Robert Kapral, St. John, Track; Donnie Madzia, Harrison Central, Basketball; Eric Meek, Weir, Football; Gene Monteleone, Wheeling Park, Wrestling; Reno Saccoccia, Steubenville, Football					
2007	Reno Saccoccia	Steubenville	Football			
	Larry Shaw	Oak Glen	Wrestling			
	Dave Cisar, Magnolia, Baseball; T Football	om Wise, Bishop Donahue, Boys' Ba	asketball; Mike Young, Wheeling Central,			
2008	Robert "Bubba" Kapral	St. John	Track			
	Michael Jebbia, Wheeling Park, Boys' Cross Country; Penn Kurtz, Wheeling Central, Girls' Basketball; Brett McLean, St. Clairsville, Football; Mike Young, Wheeling Central, Football					
2009	Robert "Bubba" Kapral	St. John	Track			
	Mel Stephens Troy Baker, Monroe Central, Girls' Meadowbrook, Golf	Wheeling Central Basketball; Jeremy Midei, St. John,	Basketball Boys' Cross Country; Mel Pesuit,			
2010	Bob Kramer	Madonna	Football			
	Ed Andes, Shadyside, Boys' Baske Heidi Mooney, St. Clairsville, Girls'	etball; Tom Bruney, Brooke, Football;	Paul Jackson, Parkersburg South, Wrestling;			
2011	Mark Holenka	Shadyside	Football			
	Mark Batton, Magnolia, Football; F Basketball; Tina Yates, Shadyside	•	restling; George Vargo, Madonna, Boys'			
2012	Mike Young	Wheeling Central	Football			
	Mike Blackburn, Steubenville, Wrestling; Kim Clifford, Boys' Basketball, St. Clairsville; Paul Jackson, Parkersburg South, Wrestling; Dan Liedtke, Fort Frye, Boys'/Girls' Basketball					
2013	Brett McLean	St. Clairsville	Football			
0044	Basketball, Brett McLean, St. Clair	sville, Football; Ed West, John Mars				
2014	Justin Clifford	Harrison Central	Baseball			
	Basketball; Doug Taylor, Madonna		lf; Mel Stephens, Wheeling Central, Boys'			
2015	Dave Tallman	Magnolia	Basketball			
	Basketball; Jason White, Morgant	Mike Blackburn, Steubenville, Wrestling; Dan Demchak, University, Cross Country; Ben Porter, Union Local, Boys' Basketball; Jason White, Morgantown, Volleyball, Girls' Basketball				
2016	Jillian Ongley	Shadyside	Softball			
	Basketball; Jason White, Morgant	Chris Daugherty, Wheeling Park, Football; Sean Grinch, Shadyside, Wrestling; Dave Tallman, Morgantown, Boys' Basketball; Jason White, Morgantown, Girls' Basketball				
2017	Rick Magruder	Wheeling Central	Softball			
	Tony Ciroli, St. Clairsville, Track; F Fred Heatherington, Steubenville,	Tony Ciroli, St. Clairsville, Track; Pat Durkin, Wheeling Park, Girls' Swimming; Sean Grinch, Shadyside, Wrestling;				
2018	Reno Saccoccia	Steubenville	Football			
		s' Basketball; Shaun Smith, Parkers Mike Young, Wheeling Central, Footb	sburg South, Wrestling; Lou "Scooter" Tolzda, pall			
2019	Eric Huck	Fort Frye	Football			
	Softball; Jordan Williams, Beaver	Local, Wrestling	s' Basketball; Ed West, John Marshall,			
2020	Brian Perkins	Toronto	Baseball			
0004	Ted Arneault, Jr., Oak Glen, Football; Dan Liedtke, Fort Frye, Girls' Basketball; Morgan Polling, Oak Glen, Volleyball; Lou "Scooter" Tolzda, Meadowbrook, Boys' Basketball					
2021	Ernie Banks	St. Clairsville	Swimming			
	Carrie Hanna, Wheeling Park, Girls' Soccer; Brett McLean, St. Clairsville, Football; Eric Mercer, Shadyside, Volleyball; Holly Pettit, Cameron, Girls' Basketball					

OVAC COACH-OF-THE-YEAR

YEAR 2022	COACH Brian Leggett	SCHOOL Wheeling Park	SPORT Wrestling		
	D. J. Butler, Barnesville, Baseball; Dan Ifft, Dover, Football; Holly Pettit, Cameron, Girls' Basketball; Lou "Scoo Tolzda, Union Local, Girls' Basketball				
2023	Kaye Sechrest	Union Local	Volleyball		
	B.J. Depew, Linsly, Football; Holly Pettit, Cameron, Girls' Basketball; Jayson Stephen, Barnesville, Wrestling; David Tallman, Morgantown, Boys' Basketball				
2024	Jayson Stephen	Barnesville	Wrestling		
	Ken Maisel, University, Wrestling; Holly Pettit, Cameron, Girls' Basketball; David Tallman, Morgantown, Boys' Basketball, Ed West, John Marshall, Softball; Ryan Young, Wheeling Park, Girls' Basketball				
2025	Mason Lang	Monroe Central	Boys' Basketball		
	Mel Stephens	Wheeling Central	Boys' Basketball		
	Mike Cottis, Indian Creek, Baseba	II: Ken Maisel, University, Wrestling:	Holly Pettit, Cameron, Girls' Basketball		

UPDATED: 05.22.25

COACH-OF-THE-YEAR BREAKDOWNS

SCHOOLS

Steubenville: 8 Wheeling Central: 8

Magnolia: 4 St. Clairsville: 4 Wheeling Park: 4

Shadyside: 3

Barnesville: 2

Bellaire: 2 Bridgeport: 2 Brooke: 2 John Marshall: 2 Oak Glen: 2 St. John: 2

Bishop Donahue: 1 Buckeye Trail: 1 Cambridge: 1 Cameron: 1 Fort Frye: 1 Harrison Central: 1 Madonna: 1

Monroe Central: 1 Skyvue: 1

Toronto: 2

Steubenville Catholic: 1

Union Local: 1

Warren Consolidated: 1

Weir: 1

Wintersville: 1 Woodsfield: 1

SPORTS

Football: 24

Basketball, Boys': 18

Wrestling: 7

Basketball, Girls': 2

Track: 4
Baseball: 4
Softball: 2
Swimming: 1
Volleyball: 1

GENDER

Males: 58 Females: 4

STATE

Ohio: 36

West Virginia: 26

MULTIPLE WINNERS

Reno Saccoccia, Steubenville (5) 1985, 1989, 2006, 2007, 2018

Sam Andy, Wheeling Park (2)

1976, 1995

Paul "Bud" Billiard, Brooke (2)

1986, 1991

Robert "Bubba" Kapral, St. John (2)

2008, 2009

Larry Shaw, Oak Glen (2)

2000, 2007

Mel Stephens, Wheeling Central (2)

2009, 2025

UPDATED: 05.22.25

George Strager, St. Clairsville (2)

1979, 1987

Jim Thomas, Wheeling Central (2)

1980, 2003

Charles Watt, Steubenville (2)

1971, 1990