SPORTS

OVAC Banquet of Champions set May 22

Coaches and althletes representing 48 champiorship persons in its posts will be recognized at the sixth annual Kroger-Ohio Valley Althletic Conference barquet of Champions on Wednesday night, May 22 at the Wheel-

Troples and or championship pennants are to be Troples and or championship pennants are sessing to the tille-winning teams.

The athletes have been irrited to atland the barquet seguests of Kraiger and the OVAC Foundation.

Doors at the Civic Center open at 5:39 p.m. on the sight of the affair. The barquet is scheduled to begin at sight of the affair. The barquet is scheduled to begin at

Guest speaker will be Doug Heir, hailed by many as the best overall wheelchair albitete in the world. Heir, whose picture agreens on Wheatles cereal horse, is also known as a molivational and inspira-liumi speaker.

in addition to the champiouship awards, also to be presented are eight scholarships and several special awards.

Scholarship contributors include The Kroger Com-pany, McDonald's, Pepsi-Coia, Wheeling National Bank, Chio Valley Board of Approved Football Of-ficials, OVAC Baseball Conches, Daniel M. Burke

Wrestling Award and the George Kovalick Memorial Award.

Foreial presentations include: the OVAC Coach of the Year Award, presented by the Wheeling News- Elegister; the Calvin Giffin Memorial Track Service Award and the Dave Bierkrutte Memorial Award, the latter going to the notistanding wrestler in the OVAC Wennament. This year's Blerkrutte related in the OVAC Wennament. This year's Blerkrutte related in the Ovac Trac Giffin Award will go to two brothers — Bill and Bob Wilson — Or their many years of service as track Amanamement of the Coach of the Year will be made by News-Register Sports Editor Bill Van Hume to close Heevening Steathlities.

evening's festivities.

Lettels for the dinner are \$11 each and lables of eight likes for the dinner are \$11 each and lables of eight libery existing all a cost of \$8a. Reservations may be de by calling dinner chairman Jerry Vinci at \$59-60 for \$10 million of \$

Minitry at accusa.

Pollowing is a list of OVAC championship teams and
their craches from the 1990-91 school year, (All OVAC
tiles have been decided except for those in baseball.
Baseball playoffs are scheduled to conclude next
weekend at Vaccaro Field in Steubenville).

Class A — Woodsfield (Jay Circosta); Class AA — Woodsfield (Jay Circosta); Class AAA — Si. Classiville (Mke Young); Class AAAA — Brooke (Paul Billiard).

VOLLEYBALL (ORIOSIDE)
Class A — Shenardsah (Patil Webb); Class AA —
Welkerille (Caby Wollam); Class AAA — Wintersvelle
(Erin Desaufis).

CERD Desantis).
Class A-AA—Wheeling Central (Mary Hennen); Class AAA—Wheeling Central (Mary Hennen); Class AAA-AAAA—Magnella (Phin Dimenn).
Class A—Woodsfled (Bob Cain); Class AA—Linsiy (Mark Zavetsky); Class AAA—St. Classfredie (Richard (Mark Zavetsky)); Class AAA—St. Classfredie (Richard (Mar); Class AAA—Stryne (Richard (Mar); Class AAA—Stryne (Richit Chas); Class AAA—Magnola (Wayne); Class AAA—Rast Liverpool (Scott Thernberty).

CROSS COUNTRY (GIRLS)
Class A-AA — Meadowbrook (Herb Filzer); Class
AAA-AAAA — John Marshall (Mike Derrow). BASKETBALL (BOYS)

Class A — Mingo (Joe Duzlery); Class AA — Shenan-doah (Dan Schwielerman); Class AAA — Bellaire (Gene Ammirante); Class AAAA — East Liverpool (Nick Aloi).

BASKETBALL (GHIO GHÈLS)

Gass A — St. John Central (Kim Traversa); Class AA

— Union Local (Steve Laposki); Class AAA — Bellaire
(Gregg Const).

Class A-A Marking Central (Larry Finneran);
Class A-A-A-A-A-Wheeling Central (Larry Finneran);
Class A-A-A-A-A-Wheeling Central (Larry Finneran);
Class A-Cameron (Lin Polity); Class A-Wellville
(Mike Kinzel: Class A-A- Union Local (Rick Link);
Class A-A-Linky (Dive Pinneran);
Class A-A-Linky (Dave Pinneran);
Class A-A-Linky (Dave Pinneran);
Class A-A-Linky (Dave Pinneran);
Class AA-Linky (Dave Pinneran);
Class

GIRLS TRACK

Class A-AA — St. Jein Central (Bob "Bubba" Kagral);
Class AAA — Magnelis (Greg Swords); Class AAAA — John Marshall (Mike Derrow).

SOFTBALL Class A — Bridgepot (Fred Ottesm); Class AA — Union Local (Fred Folirski); Class AAA — Edison South (Dave McCornell). BOYS — Linsly (Mike Church); GIRLS — Wheeling Central (Mary Hemen),