## OVAC mat tourney

bouts are slated.

The second round is set for 2 p.m. Friday. The quarterfinals and consolation matches are set for 7 p.m. Friday. The fourth session is set for 1 p.m. Saturday and will include the semifinals and additional consolation bouts, including those to determine the seventh and eighth-place tin determine the seventh and eighth-place finishers.

This will set the stage for Saturday night's final during which three mats will be utilized to determine first through sixth-place winners.

The field includes four 1981 champions. Scott Mills of Steubenville won at 112 last year and is now competing at 119. Dave Delande of St. Clairsville is bidding for his third straight conference title. He was runnerup at 98 as a freence title. He was runnerup at 98 as a freence title.

last year. He's competing at 138 this year. Defending their titles in the same weight classes are Brian Duff of Cambridge at 155 and

last year, Union Local prevailed in Class 3-A and Springfield earned Class 1-A laurels.

"This is one of the best balanced fields we've had in a long time and it's really hard to predict who's going to win," said tourney director Ron Mauck of Brooke High.

The field, in addition to its balance, is a premier one. Fifty-seven of the 104 wrestlers who placed in the event a year ago return for this year's event.

Stephenson is counting on overall depth to carry his team through. His Cardinals won the John Marshall Invitational although not producing one individual champion.

"It doesn't look like any team is going to run away with the title," Stephenson noted. 'It appears that at least a half dozen schools have a good shot."

Tonight's opening session gets underway at 6 and several hundred preliminary and first round

fields in recent ire of the 29th anerence Wrestling pree-day stand at the.

schools will comnent which will be n. Saturday.

the first "small" the first but overall state overall sas 2-A honors. winner of two insunant out to present a ted to present a

overall crown to Class 4-A honors

## **snipad**

Mike Tluchowski of Steubenville at 167, Tluchowski was also named the outstanding wrestler in last year's tournament and was recipient of the coveted David Bierkortte Memorial Award for that achievement.

During Saturday night's finals, Stephenson will be awarded the coach of the year award for having led his team to the overall title last year. Officials of the sponsoring Ohio Valley Wrestling Coaches Association will also announce the winner of the "Mr. Mat" Award, which is being presented for the seventh time in recognition of putstanding service to the sport.

In addition, the 11 conference champions of the 1957 tourney will observe their 25th anniversary and will be special guests at the event. Seven of the 11 still reside in the Ohio Valley and several are expected to travel long distance to attend the tourney and receive special recognition.

## Steubenville Gains

OVAC Mat Title

## OVERALL TEAM SCORING—Steubenville 159, DeLong (Spring), 7-3, Joha Marzhall 144, Cambridge 144, Cadaix 122½, East Liverpool 131, Martins Ferry & Incoke Esst Liverpool 131, Martins Ferry & Incoke 131, Brooke 145, Sellaire 74, East Liverpeel 31, Brooke 144, Cambridge 144, East Liverpeel 31, Brooke 144, Cambridge 144, East Liverpeel 31, Brooke 14, Winterstulle 41, OVAC Tourney Results

as e's an re was ta by Bealls lock caught Ward.



miT .b (Inso.gelWhyseger (Why.Cen) d. Tim THE-Bob McCool (JM) d. Charles Siddle (Shen). 4-1. 175-Keith Van Camp (River) d. Tim Arguragi #4. Je7--Chris Slevens (Brpf) d. Ron Yarosz (Tor), 155-Walf Cunningham (JU) d. Kirk Roth (MF), Cedit), 2:47. 145-Tim Milchell (Sleeb) d. Bill Thresher (Tor), 5.0. 138-Cary Sheets (Stanton) p. Chuck Kidder altnama... ni T. ... (Staub) d. Tim Lamanta... (Camb), 7-1. 176-Dan Milanteni (Brooks) d. Dick Pryor 1-2, (Spring), 1-1. [13-John Jeffries (UL) d. Mark Kojellos (MF), [13-John Miller (Betnes) d. Heath Beathnorg 102-Biyan Bunch (\$100b) d. Brian Hellyer Febry (St.J.), 3-1.
Heavy Tarry Zonker (Bell) d. Jamie Price
(Camb), 11-0.
THIRD-FOURTH PLACES
78-Brian Isaly (Seells) p. Larry Dobbs (JM), 38 (Weils), 4:53, (Weilch (Why. Cent) d. Vaughn CTHERTA).

175-Mike Owens (Mesdow) p. Brent Brown 1-4. Mike Brooks (Cadiz) won over Mike Thuchowski (Slaub) in overtime (rule book iss.-Brien Duff (Camb) d. Ernie Blazek (Bell), (L.12) aso R aville (AL) p. Mike Rose (St.J), (Camb), 23-9. 1737-Chris Ledyard (Steub.Cath) p. John Caspico (JU), 2:33. 174-Dave Deisnde (St.C) p. Dave Hadley (EL), 134-Larry teleman (Tor) d. David Gibson (Steub), 8-4. 119-Jim Strickland (River) d. Ted Zervos (JM), 7. 112:-Phil Mitectoni (Brooks) d. Scott Mills 165--Roger Keat (WP) d. Tim Ward (Bealls), 8-"(AM) brawfud stast & (EL) dense Outward (MF), CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

